Even ants matter

Some ants discovered a knife I had absently left on the kitchen bench after breakfast this morning and had made an impressive path through the lounge room, across the hallway and kitchen floor all the way to the bench.

In the past I would’ve just wiped them up but I now honestly believe that doing so is to disregard and disrespect another creature’s life. So I removed the knife and cleaned the area as best I could around the ant trail thinking that this would solve the problem. It didn’t. I went out for several hours and came back to a still healthy trail of ants. They didn’t seem to have a destination now but yet they were still there.

Aside from what this says about how thoroughly I wipe my kitchen benches, I have Googled and am currently trialing Cinnamon as a deterrent. It seems to be working but once the trail has gone I will sprinkle some more into the crack between the floor boards they were using as their entrance point to see if this stops them coming in altogether. Here’s hoping!

Next thing I’d like to learn how to get rid of is flies. Being a rental we have requested fly screens but they have not been forthcoming. So in the meantime how do you get rid of a fly without killing it? Think I just have to live with them.

MM.

About Mahayana Mum

A wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, neighbour and modern western woman trying to reconcile her life with the teachings of the Buddha.
This entry was posted in No killing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment